Skip to main content

Every Door Direct Mail®

Features

Hassle-Free and High-Quality Every Door Direct Mail® Printing

Need to create personalized messaging that will reach your target demographic? Print EDDM®-compliant postcards that fulfill the USPS’ requirements. This direct mail strategy lets you reach a specific demographic at affordable rates. You can easily promote your business and expand your current market reach. Just use the USPS’ mapping tool to see which postal route fits your potential customer profile based on demographic data like age range and household income. Once your postcards are ready, USPS will deliver your message to every address in the selected postal route.

This removes the need to upload a mailing list or include a postage permit. At UPrinting, we take care of every customization detail, from sizes that fit EDDM® postcard requirements to cardstock that endures multiple handling.

EDDM® Postcard Printing Guidelines

We print approved EDDM® sizes from 6.25" x 8" to 11" x 17" on your choice of durable 14 pt. or 16 pt. stocks.


The 3 most popular Every Door Direct Mail® postcard size options are:

  • 6.5” x 9”
  • Oversized postcards 8.5" x 11"
  • Tri-fold menus 4.25" x 14"

The dimension guidelines as listed on the USPS EDDM® page are:

  • Rectangular with four square corners or finished cor­ners that do not exceed a radius of 1/8 inch
  • One of the following: more than 11.5 inches long, more than 6 1/8 inches high, or more than 1/4 inch thick
  • Not more than 15 inches long, 12 inches high, or 3/4 inch thick.

All available sizes follow the EDDM® postcard requirements. Our three most popular sizes are:

  • 6.5” x 9”
  • 6.5” x 11”
  • 8.5” x 11”

Download any of the templates available to ensure the file follows all the necessary printing guidelines. The sample design below shows how your artwork will appear with the guidelines considered:

  • A safe zone should not include any important details, text, or images beyond its green dotted area. This prevents essential information from being cut in the final print.
  • The trim line determines where the final design will be cut. Only your background color should be seen here, but cannot include anything in the safe zone.
  • Bleed should include the background of your artwork, up until the edge of this area. This is crucial for designs that extend up to the edge of your final size.

Direct mail postcards' available finishes include matte, gloss, and high-gloss UV. You also have the choice to use standard EDDM® retail indicia or to have your indicia on your artwork file. Together, these options allow you to create quality postcards in EDDM® compliant sizes and formatting that suit whatever artwork you have.

Optional bundling in sets of 100 is also available to meet USPS requirements for EDDM®.

You can also download any of these free postcard templates and mailing guides in your preferred size and file format. AI, JPG, PDF, PS, and PUB formats are available. Use these templates with your preferred design tool to account for the bleed, trim, and safe zone for your artwork, as well as for technical mailing requirements. Templates are also arranged according to size and orientation.


How to Craft an Effective Direct Mail Message

Stick to one main purpose for your EDDM® postcard.

Are you promoting a new product line or store opening? Are you a realtor announcing your next open house? Or do you simply want to greet both old and new customers during the holidays? Decide on your postcard’s central message and design every element to serve this purpose.

The simpler, the better.

You probably have a lot to say but a simple message comes out clearer. Focus on the purpose of your direct mail postcard. Otherwise, you distract customers with information that may get in the way of your end goal or call-to-action. Make sure everything on the postcard leads and helps the recipient toward the desired action.

Formulate a design strategy.

Your postcard needs to do more than look nice. The message should appeal to your target demographic and be readable in one glance. A call-to-action must be clear so the EDDM® postcards serve their purpose. Align the message such that it leads your recipient to the call-to-action.

You can also personalize the message and images according to your chosen demographic. See what colors, tone, and images match so it can appeal to your target market. To narrow down your design choices, try to imagine the demographic’s lifestyle. Activities like their outdoor hobbies and food preferences help in envisioning what attracts your selected recipient.

Printing & Ordering is Easy

Ordering EDDM® compliant postcards is easy if you choose a professional EDDM® printer. Download our postcard templates and mailing guide in the size and file format you need. Use these templates with your preferred design tool to account for the bleed, trim, and safe zone for your artwork, as well as to account for technical mailing requirements. When you’re ready to print, just select the options you need, and upload your file. You can get your finished EDDM® postcards in as soon as 1 business day and start selecting postcard mailing delivery routes at your local post office through bundle mailing with USPS.

Resources:

8 Postcard Printing Tips Your Printer Forgot to Tell You
Direct Mail Postcard Ideas

EDDM® and EVERY DOOR DIRECT MAIL® are trademarks of the United States Postal Service.

UPrinting is an independent provider of Every Door Direct Mail® products that are not associated with nor sponsored by the United States Postal Service.

EDDM® Postcards FAQs

Size. Color. Material. It's all here, and more.

5 Paper/Stock Options

Every Door Direct Mail® templates.

Save time by using our free templates. Our templates have been setup with proper bleeds and margins, assuring your print job turns out accurate. To download, select a file type and click on the size below.

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great presentation My first direct mail print and they look perfect. Thank you
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Not my furst print job with these guys. Have been impressed with the quality and turn-a-round time
Date published: 2020-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent customer service and great quality! Uprinting has great prices and they are always ready to answer any question you have!
Date published: 2020-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied Customer I was very satisfied with the postcards and service I received. I kept making proof changes over the span of 3 days but they didn't seem to mind. I got the 14pt gloss and was expecting them to be super glossy but they weren't. The thickness of them is great. Lastly, the price. All I can say is wow! They have the best pricing in the market while maintaining high quality. The only thing I wish was better is more shipping options. Mainly just slower shipping.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for a good price I purchased 500 flyers. Easy to design and customer service was quick to respond.
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to make EDDM I purchased the EDDM cards and was worried about how they would come out and if everything would be correct in order for the post office (I bought 1,000). The cards came out beautiful and I am going to order more...
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Printing, Remarkable Pricing. Great product, If they organized a low cost - Local Area delivery service they would be perfect. They're printing is top notch.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and timely delivery! Very happy with how my mailers turned out. Will use this company again.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price value and quality! Bought for road notification closure for our 5K. Very nice job along with price!
Date published: 2018-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick Turnaround! I’m very happy with my purchase and will be using UPrinting from now on!
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Definition Been using them since 2015 they are great!!! Highly reccomend! Great prices as well.
Date published: 2018-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They came out very nice, Very nice and quick turn around. I liked that i can design it myself
Date published: 2018-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Your Work I absolutely love every print job I have had done by your company and our EDDM postcards were no exception. Great job!
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from direct mail worked for us We bought 4000 EDDM postcards to send in our community to promote our nonprofit and free after school program. We immediately had more kids registered! The postcards were beautiful came on time no issues, the downloadable proofs were very helpful.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect every time I've used UPrinting several times and I have never been let down by the quality. The colors are great, images are sharp, and everything looks very professional.
Date published: 2018-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank you ! The stickers that I ordered are exactly what I needed. They are terrific quality and arrived at my door in just a few days.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing look! I had never used Uprinting when I came across the website when looking to make cards for EDDM for my business. I took a while to create my 6.5x9 cards on the online tool. Looked awesome. I got a call from customer service verifying some of the info and letting me know that the there was a white edging on my cards. After some discussion as to where to put the EDDM stamps on the cards and to carry the graphics to the edges, they set them up to print. They arrived to my home and I busted a box open right away. Wow, they look amazing. I went on USPS.com and chose my delivery routes, printed forms, and took to post office. Can't wait to see the response I get from potential customers! I am now placing another order for more!
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I'm hooked!! Best price, and absolutely amazing service!! Lightening fast, I dont know how they pulled it off!! I highly recommend! I won't go anyplace else for my EDDM printing. Thanks Uprinting! David M., Phaith Properties, Houston, Texas
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Service, price and product. I am absolutely overwhelmed how great this printing service is. Their online design tool makes everything simple to but professional in appearance. Then the free proffers touch it up even more and make it fantastic. They do all this with a price that can not be beat. I will never use anyone else again. Love, love love it!!!
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience Everything - printing, customer service, delivery - was excellent. I'm so happy that I used UPrinting for my campaign materials.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy website, affordable quality,quick turn around This was my first time using Uprinting.com and the EDDM Service. I was worried that it sounded too good to be true, and that the resolution would print out all blurry, and that I'd be forced to throw out 1000 postcards..However, none of this was true at alll!! Uprinting was extremely professional, with prompt responses, user friendly website , detailed instructions on what to expeCT, and even emailed me a free proof 2 different times to make sure I was satisfied before printing and sending out!! This postcard size was 6.5" X 8" so it was perfect to make it stand out above other small letters in the mail! I am very excited to see the leads we acquire from mailing these out! Whenever I do need to print something again, Uprinting.com is who I'll use again! I've already recommended to 2 friends with business' & I will continue to do so! Thanks uprinting.com for keeping your word, and making this as easy as possible!
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality mailer Have received a great deal of response and it worked out well.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered some postcards to use for recruiting and were very pleased with the product. Customer service was great, we received a quick turnaround on the finished product, and it arrived as expected. I looked at several websites before choosing Uprint. I'm happy with my choice. We will definitely be using Uprint again!
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy They did a great production job on our EDDM cards. Very happy with the quality of the cards.
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast with a high quality product! Until this purchase, I had been using another online printer for the past 4 years or so. I decided to try uprinting.com and I am delighted with my decision. Not only was the site super easy to use, but they offered postcards in the size that I wanted and needed for the Every Door Direct Mail program through the USPS. The cards were printed and arrived early! Great job. I'm super happy and will now go to uprinting.com first!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience all around. Price was great- delivery time was excellent- final product perfect! Will be using again and again.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I ordered 3,000 EDDM postcards for my real estate business. I was very happy with the quality. The cards were nice and thick and the print quality was excellent. If you're looking for EDDM postcards, look no further, order from this site.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing customer service We use Uprinting often and they always go above and beyond to ensure the quality of our products.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Business literature I ordered postcards, business cards and door magnets they were better then expected
Date published: 2016-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent All Around! Excellent pricing, customer service and final product looks great
Date published: 2016-05-02
  • y_2021, m_9, d_20, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_112322, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_uprinting
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 17.97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
1,000,000+ business professionals trust us with their printing.
Designers. Small businesses. Iconic brands. We print for you.
Free File Check
Free file check.

Your files will be reviewed for printing errors without paying a cent.

More printing.
More printing.

150+ print products to help you make a good impression. 1000+ options to customize to your heart’s content.

Reliable Always
Reliable. Always.

The product you want. The way you want. Professional printing guaranteed.